April 2012

On the exact anniversary of the sinking of the RMS Titanic, the Southampton Concert Orchestra and Contemporary Music for All are collaborating to perform a concert of classical and contemporary music honouring the tragic event one hundred years ago to the day.

Highlights of the concert will be Dvorak's New World Symphony, representing the hopes and aspirations of many of those passengers who set off for a better life the new world, and a newly arranged version of Gavin Bryars' mood piece Titanic which re-creates the sounds and spirits of the last moments of the ill-fated voyage.

See also:


You can also download a flyer (195KB PDF) or poster (5.1MB PDF) advertising the concert.


  1. Felix Mendelssohn - The Hebrides Overture (Fingal's Cave), Op.26

  2. Antonín Dvorák - Symphony No. 9 in E minor "From the New World", Op.95

  3. Gustav Mahler - Adagietto from Symphony No. 5

  4. Gavin Bryars - The Sinking of the Titanic


Tickets are now available for purchase - Book your tickets online (Booking fee may apply)
Adults: £8, £12, £15, £19 (Seniors: £1 discount)
Children under 12: £1
Students, children 12-15, job seekers, disabled: £5 discount
(carers accompanying disabled patrons: free of charge)

Available from Southampton Guildhall (Tel: 023 8063 2601)

April 2012


Southampton Concert Orchestra